Good Handwriting is a Useless Talent

Such a lovely article, especially relevant for all moms obsessed with their children’s writing- block, cursive- legible etc.

joeyfullystated

handwriting1

…When I was in the third grade, I won some of those scribe contests, the prizes for which were shiny ribbons. Useless ribbons for useless talent.

or so they say... or so they say…

These days, I don’t think I could win any scribe contests, because I’m more of a scribble scrawler, even when arthritis isn’t killin me, which it often is. My writing was much neater when I was younger, but then I wrote more by hand then. I don’t write letters as often as I used to, which I think may be killin my mother, who writes like this:

and this is just her scribble scrawl, y'all and this is just her scribble scrawl, y’all

See, my mother was a civil engineering draftsman, long before CAD, and she writes everything perfectly.

yes, we do our crosswords with a pen yes, we do our crosswords with a pen

When little girls are inclined to imitate their mothers, I must have aspired to handwriting greatness or somethin. I also dreamed of being…

View original post 299 more words

2 thoughts on “Good Handwriting is a Useless Talent

Add yours

  1. I don’t believe handwriting is a useless talent, but it depends on what profession you are going for. If you’re a bricklayer or carpenter, you probably won’t need it lots. If you’re a GP, good handwriting will make the pharmacist’s job a lot easier. When you’re going for an artist job like a painter, cartoonist, or the likes, the hand-eye coordination practiced with handwriting may be of good use. Neat and legible handwriting shows dedication and precision, but shouldn’t stop your career in this digital world.
    Personally, I find people who don’t hold their pen/pencil between their index finger and thumb tip (but rest their thumb on the pen/pencil) look like morons. My kids do this when they write. I told their primary school teacher that I didn’t like it that she didn’t correct them. Her answer was she preferred them enjoying writing first and would correct later. Obviously, she never got to the correcting stage. Now they write like morons 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

ELIZABETH'S BOOKS & TEA

READER WRITER TEA-DRINKER

odonnellgrunting

the wonderful world of words

Made of sticks and stones

Frank Regan in words

MDellert-dot-Com

An Adventure in Indie Publishing

joeyfullystated

Narrative of a Neurotic & Other Random Nonsense

Edwina's Episodes

Blogger, Rhymester and Poet. Looking at life in all it's glory, and putting my own spin on it, with just a dash of humour thrown in!

The English Professor at Large

Posts about old Hollywood, current concerns

The Mental Mommy's Mind

a page in the life of multi-tasking wife-mom-author-editor Pamela Crane

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

alohaleya

wearing her heart on her blog

Jacky Dahlhaus - Writer

Follow me on a journey of words

The Pearly Life

A Beauty Lifestyle And Travel Blog

SaidaChahid.} Fashion-Beauty & Lifestyle Blogger.

"Where Creative Mind Meets The World."

oats

welcome!

Hidden glitter

I'm a box of glitter hidden inside the darkest cave of this world

